One of the Most Uncomfortable Encouragements I Received

When I was a pastor at Christian Fellowship Bible Church, I preached a sermon that I thought was very convicting and powerful. You can wrongly think that a lot when you’re a new preacher. Well, God humbled me. A dear sister in the church who is older than my mom, took me aside to encourage me. She gave me a hug and thanked me for the sermon. Then she said, “PJ, you’re such a good preacher. One day you’ll be as good as Joel Osteen.” Joel Osteen! What? I smiled and said, “Thanks Tita (Auntie in Filipino)” and walked away trying not to let my smile drop too quickly. God taught me a few things. Why do I care if people think I’m a good preacher if they don’t discern false teachers and false teaching? I shouldn’t. I also learned that I feared man back then (and still today in various ways) because I didn’t have the guts to tell her what I thought about Joel Osteen.

If you don’t know, Joel Osteen is a false teacher who doesn’t preach the biblical gospel but the prosperity gospel.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in journal, Personal Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

