I am Unlimited? Kobe, Homosexuality, Racism, God, Limits, and our Happiness

I am unlimited

From the Sprint commercial claiming that because we’re unlimited we have the right to unlimited data on our phones. The commercial says, “The miraculous is everywhere, in our homes, in our minds. We can share every second in data dressed as pixels. A billion roaming photo journalists uploading the human experience and it is spectacular. So why would you cap that?” My iPhone 5 can see every point of view. Every panorama. The entire gallery of humanity. I need to upload all of it. I need… no I have the right to be unlimited. Only Sprint offers truly unlimited data for iPhone 5.”

Whether it’s Kobe vowing to return to the NBA playing at an elite level, battles over the acceptance of homosexuality in our culture, or the racist’s justification for seeing his ethnicity superior to another’s, the human idea is older than the first humans born to Adam and Eve. It’s the idea that I have no limits and can do whatever I want. I have the right to whatever I want. I have no limits.

But this isn’t true. Limits exist. Kobe’s achilles has torn and will take at least 6 months to recover. Homosexuality disagrees and disobeys the God and Father of the Lord Jesus Christ according to the Bible (I’m not saying it will not be accepted in our culture but that it cannot erase the limitation the bible declares it to have). All humans from all ethnicities are just as human as any other human from a particular ethnicity. These are realities. Thus, they are limits. We can declare otherwise, we can even insist on our right to our declaration, but it doesn’t always change reality. It doesn’t change at least some limits.

Besides, limits can be good, can’t they? I’m glad my wife is morally limited to be faithful to me and I to her. I’m glad God limits me to teach and serve my children, not bully or exasperate them. I’m glad God tells me to obey the law and I’m glad everyone driving around me follows some limits like driving on the correct side of the road, obeying the limits placed on them by traffic lights, honoring lines on the road, and keeping within some proximity to the speed limit. I’m glad there are limits on people stealing and murdering. I’m glad there are some limits. The point is, we’re not unlimited. We don’t have the right to whatever we want and we don’t have the right to be unlimited!

Only God is unlimited and it is good that he is. It is also good that we are not. For in finding out where the true and false limits really are is the key to real freedom and happiness. Jesus said, “You will know the truth and the truth shall set you free.”

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

