A Study Plan for the Apostle Paul’s Letter to the Romans

I’ve been wanting to do something like this for a long time. Not sure if I’ll do this in 2013 just yet, but I wanted to post my thoughts to clear out some brain space. I’d like to study Romans, passage by passage, in these 8 steps:

  1. Read and translate the Greek text. Note all grammatical and syntactical observations.
  2. Look up all grammatical references in Wallace‘s Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics.
  3. Memorize the CSB Translation of the passage.
  4. Arc the passage using Bible Arc. Arc summaries of larger chunks as I progress.
  5. Listen to Moo lecture on the passage
  6. Read Moo and Cranfield‘s commentaries on the passage. Schreiner too, if I get it.
  7. Listen to the John Piper’s sermon(s) on the passage
  8. Outline a sermon as if I were to preach that section identifying the FCF, big idea, main points, subpoints, and transitions.
  9. (in an ideal world, the next step would be to preach the passage at my church)
About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Exegesis, study. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

