God Told Me to Examine Myself and Spend Time Each Day Confessing Sin without Hurrying

“Carefully consider the path for your feet, and all your ways will be established.” [Proverbs 4:26]

“Therefore, ridding yourselves of all moral filth and evil, humbly receive the implanted word, which is able to save you.” [James 1:21]

Today in reading the Bible with two brothers in Christ (one a member of CrossView Church and the other considering membership), I think God’s Spirit was pressing on me a particular action. From my readings today I know God wants me to rid myself of sin and consider the path for my feet. I need to spend more time in self-examination, confession of sin, and repentance. So that’s what I was praying for today. I fell flat on my face before God and he humbled me BIG time. I struggled with sin and gave into temptation today and God not only helped me see my sin, but broke my heart in the process so that I can go deeper in contrition over sin and gladness over the gospel work of the Lord Jesus.

One particular sin against God is being self-righteous and shamefully critical of others. When I think something critical of someone I assume I am right. This strengthens my confidence in my critique and even stirs my passion for it. Then I start to tune out and not even hear what the person is saying to me. When I get to this point all kinds of things go wrong. I stop loving the person who’s speaking to me. I ignore God and his purposes for me in the moment. I consider myself wise and thus cease all opportunities to grow in real wisdom. And I grow in pride.

I’m glad God showed this to me as I considered the path of my feet. Now it’s time to take God’s Word and kill these sins to receive the implanted Word which is able to save me.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in humility, journal, lessons learned, Pastoral ministry, personal applications, Personal Experiences, private conversations/blogs/comments, trials and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

