Do You Think of Yourself as Wise or Not Wise?

Proverbs 3:7 – “Don’t consider yourself to be wise; fear Yahweh and turn away from evil.

This has been my problem lately. I must be honest. I consider myself wise. I am wise in my own eyes. For this reason, I am actually foolish. Considering myself to be wise cuts me off from gleaning and receiving the wisdom the Lord desires to give me in each conversation, sermon, reading, or observation of the world around me. When I meet with brothers from my church, other members, or fellow pastors, I don’t often come with a deep sense of “I need to learn all that I can right now from this person because God is teaching me something here.” God is always teaching. I’m not always learning.

This coincides with what God challenged me with in my Bible reading with one of my CrossView brothers. I was challenged by 1 Timothy 4:15 where Paul writes, “Practice these things; be committed to them, so that your progress may be evident to all.” The things I, like Timothy, am to be committed to and practicing are: commanding and teaching truth (v. 11), being an example of godliness (v. 12), public reading, exhortation, and teaching (v. 13), and utilizing and growing the gift God gave me (v. 14). God challenged me this morning to pay close attention to my life and my teaching (v. 16). And I haven’t noticed that for many months (years?) I’ve considered myself wise.

I remember the time where I would reflect on many conflicting thoughts when tension arose in the marriage. I would write out thoughts and pray. I used to try to learn as much as I could from God in whatever situation I was in and with whomever I was interacting. I would listen to audio sermons on CD, take notes, pray over it, and intentionally apply or teach it to another for their benefit. I was immersed in these things Paul speaks of. I knew I wasn’t wise. That’s how I grew in wisdom. That’s how I progressed in life and ministry (1 Timothy 4:15).

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

