Putting on the Shoes of Blind Bartimaeus from Mark 10.46-52

To have been able to see and now not see means I’d have to remember what everything was like before I lost my sight.  I’d do my best to not let the memories fade.  I’d be listening very carefully, intentionally, and critically.  My arms would be highly valued.  I’d talk a lot.  I’d miss seeing my wife and kids.  I’d miss the fact that I can’t provide for them the food and shelter that I used to provide for them.  I’d miss the friendship lost by my blindness.  I’d daydream and long for the day I could see again, if that were all possible.  I’d exhaust every means I had to find a cure.  I’d get discouraged and down because I lost my vision, and I’d have to find courage to move forward.  If I heard there was a cure, I’d try to find it.  I’d push people out of my way. I’d scream.  I’d run.  I wouldn’t be held back by my shyness or potential embarrassment.  We’re talking about seeing again.  If I could get it, I’d pay for it, spend for it, and almost, sin for it.  If I heard there was a man who could heal me miraculously I’d want to see him.  If I heard he was healing blind people and that I could be healed too, I’d hope for it.  If I heard he was right down the street I’d stop everything I was doing and go to him.  I’d leave a Sunday church gathering.  I’d wake up in the middle of the night.  I’d rudely end a conversation with a friend or family member.  Even the president. I’d push through a crowd and apologize later.  I’d ignore the rebukes and the obstacles that tried to hold me back.  Like Eminem says,

You better lose yourself in the music, the moment
You own it, you better never let it go
You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow
This opportunity comes once in a lifetime yo

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Sunday Teaching or Prep. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

