Thoughts on Zephaniah in preparation for Sunday’s message

My brother will be preaching on Zephaniah 3.14-17 at CrossView Church this Sunday and so I was meditating on the book tonight.  As I thought about 3.14-17, I decided to jot a few thoughts since it’s tied to what I’ve been meditating on in James:

The hearers of Zephaniah’s prophecy were to sing for joy and shout loudly based on the promise that God would remove punishment, turn back the enemy, be among them, and rejoice over them (Zeph 3.14-17).  It’s almost like James 1.2-4 in the sense that the command is to sing for joy and be glad with all your heart, even in the midst of trial, difficulty, sin, and judgment.  The ground for the joy is not the circumstance but the gracious gospel promises of God that are unshakable.  God knows I need a rock to stand on if the joy is going to be real when there is temptation for compromise or fear.  He will deliver me.  He will lift me up.  He is here with me.  He will give me wisdom.  He will work it for my good.  He is working on me to make me complete and mature by building my endurance in this particular difficulty.  I trust him.  He calls me to more than that.  He calls me to consider it great joy in the midst of fear and regret and brokenness.  He calls me to sing for joy.  And so I will.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on Zephaniah in preparation for Sunday’s message

  1. Jan says:

    I LIKE THIS!!

    I pray your brother’s preaching will go spectacularly well this Sunday. Miss you and Francis! Can I please babysit for you two one day?

Leave a Reply

