Did Jesus call all 12 disciples to be leaders or only some of the 12?

I was reading Spiritual Leadership by J. Oswald Sanders and it got me thinking: I’ve assumed all 12 disciples/apostles were to be leaders, but that may not be the case.  God doesn’t call all Christians to be leaders.  He calls some to different functions of a ministry team.  And maybe Lord Jesus did that with the 12.  We’re not told that they were all “leaders” and I think assuming it has peculiar consequences for your conception of discipleship and following Jesus.  All Christians are called to serve.  All are called to sacrifice, love, and to make disciples.  But not all are called to lead.  Some have different roles and and callings as disciples of Jesus.  And that may have been true for some of the 12 apostles.  Am I crazy?  Maybe.  But I think when you assume all of them were called to be leaders, you look at members in your church as less than reaching their full potential unless they become leaders.  It can be unhealthy because I don’t think all Christians in the body of Christ are expected to fulfill a leadership function in the church body.  But who cares what I think?  Does the Bible have more to say on this?

(I understand they had the office of apostle/witness to the things of Jesus as stated in Acts 1, but I’m not sure if that worked out in all of them being leaders functionally.)

What do you think?

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Books read, Christian living, Leadership, questions pondered. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

