My heart has been hard and God is at work in me

“Perhaps the most frightening cases are those where countless sins are committed by many, many people, and God does absolutely nothing about it.  For the worst judgment occurs when God turns his back on people, and resolutely lets sin take its course.  Far better to be pulled up sharply before things get out of hand” (D.A. Carson,For the Love of God, Vol. 1, July 5).

In light of this I praise God for what he’s been doing in my life lately.  I’ve been feeling a callousness in my heart and soul lately towards God and I was asking God to soften my heart but felt very hard towards him.  I was tempted to be bitter towards God for not softening my heart.  How foolish!  But God helped me realize that my awareness of my hardness of heart and my desire, as cold as it was, was a gift from God and that he was graciously working in me.  He wasn’t turning his back on me.  He wasn’t letting my sin take its course.  He was doing something about it, he was informing me and making me aware that my heart was hard, my joy was dissipated, and that I needed to be broken before him.  I’m still praying for brokenness and feel calloused toward God in large measure.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in D. A. Carson, For the Love of God readings, journal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My heart has been hard and God is at work in me

  1. jesse says:

    my heart feels so vindictive and angry towards my brother in law maybe because he has inflicted so much pain to my sister and he’s very devius,i want GOD to bring him to repentance or something.whats that about how can a
    christian have such consuming feelings

Leave a Reply

