Steve Timmis Gospel Summary

The gospel according to Steve Timmis based on his study of Mark: “Jesus, God’s promised rescuer and ruler lived the life that we couldn’t live and died a death that we should’ve died, and rose again in triumphant vindication as the firstfruits of the new creation to bring forgiven sinners together under his gracious rule.”

He critiqued Mark Dever and John Piper’s definition of lacking the new creation and community aspect. Though he gladly affirms the cross and all that the two brothers have said. I think that Greg Gilbert’s articles on the gospel (part 1, part 2, and part 3) are clarifying. Furthermore, I think an absence of justification by faith alone leaves out an important aspect of the gospel message, so important that if you reject it Paul says you have a different gospel in the book of Galatians.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in gospel, Kingdom of Christ. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steve Timmis Gospel Summary

  1. alberttsao says:

    Finished the first half of Total Church this weekend. I wanted to finish it this week, but unfortunately, I passed it on to someone else at my church yesterday.

    Initial thoughts
    I guess because I’ve been on this “community” bangwagon for the past several years and b/c I’ve been reading Tim Chester’s blog and many of the authors he cites, i.e., Cole, Hirsch, et al., the book wasn’t all that revolutionary to me.

    Ton of cool quotables all over the book.

    Very impressed by the applications of the various Christian practices. Very simplistic, yet elegant and theologically grounded.

    Applications
    However, I’m not sure if this book easily applied. This entire book is about living life in community. He mentions that one shouldn’t go raving about communal church to others and simply try to live this out. That doesn’t make sense. Unless people are on the same page, it’s impossible to pull this off. One cannot do the evangelism, social involvement, and church planting (all that I’ve read so far) that he’s prescribing unless everyone else (no matter what the actual unit level) is on board.

    Unless everyone at the unit level sees this as another alternate way of “being the church,” it’s just impossible to do.

  2. Albert Tsao says:

    I’ve also read the first half of Total Church this past weekend. I passed the book on to someone else before I had a chance to finish it. Hopefully in another week or so. So far, I really like the book. It’s nothing revolutionary per se, since I have followed Chester and a lot of the emerging/missional for a while now.

    However, I disagree with them on the ease of application. I think it’s a very difficult model to follow if one doesn’t have others who believe and feel the same way. I think it’s a great book to have a new group or church read together. For a solo guy like me, it’s almost impossible to implement. In order to do communal gospel ministry like this, I would have to either convert new people or start them from scratch with this kind of ethos or else I would have to “convert” older believers into this new paradigm. I’m converting either way.

    I think the key is their understanding of what the gospel implies. I re-listened to Timmis’ first lecture this morning on my way to work. (I’m looking forward to going through the entire series over the next couple of weeks.) The communal ramifications of the gospel are the vital to their applied ministerial life. If one “only” believes that the gospel is an individualistic thing (between me and God and my ticket into heaven), they will never buy into the rest of their ministry philosophy. Just can’t happen. Hence, his clear establishment on what he thinks the gospel is.

    BTW, I think Greg Gilbert has a good overview of these issues.

Leave a Reply

