I met Rick Warren today

So two other interns and I are in the intern office when Mark Dever brings Rick Warren in our office to say hi and give us hugs as they are on their way up to see the view of the city from the top of the church building. The three interns were not supposed to be up there with them, but we went and ended up being recorded along with Mark on Rick’s podcast that goes out to 250,000 pastors. I’ll let you know when it is up if I ever find out.

I was genuinely encouraged by Rick’s conversations with us. He is a very people person and I praise God for the simplicity of his life and deliberate strategy to not be materialistic with all the financial blessings he’s had since he wrote The Purpose-Driven Life. Though there are always things we could pick to disagree with regarding some leading voice of any particular movement, I didn’t look for any and have none to blog here (though I do have some serious reservations about his philosophy of ministry as I try to exercise biblical discernment). I simply want to say I was encouraged to see God’s grace in Rick’s life, I feel his love and priority on the church versus those in political office (he pushed back a meeting just to spend time to talk with our staff for about an hour). I praise God for this brother and all the good God is doing through his life, ministry, and local church. I pray that they continue in what they’re doing faithful to Scripture, that they would grow in faithfulness to God’s Word in spreading the gospel, and that God would bear much fruit into eternity through Rick and Saddleback Church.

To be clear on what the serious reservations may be due to a comment below: 9Marks has a good and discerning review of Warren’s two major books, The Purpose-Driven Church and The Purpose-Driven Life.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Internship @ CHBC, Mark Dever. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I met Rick Warren today

  1. helen says:

    oooh praise God for the bond believers have in Christ!

  2. Albert Tsao says:

    Thank you for your encouraging words! Praise God for work Rick Warren is accomplishing in Southern California and the world.

  3. Larry says:

    Hi

    I attend Saddleback Church and have had the opportunity to meet Rick and to hear him teach for many years. The Rick you met and described is the exact same one we see and know.

    May God continue to bless Rick and to use him to spread the Gospel to the ends of earth, and then we will all celebrate the return of our Lord!!!

  4. Diana says:

    Having Rick Warren paraded around as if he preaches the Gospel, by Mark Dever is troubling at best. You guys are proud of this? I missed the part in the bible where Christ or the Apostles paraded around “men who promoted sin from the pulpit (our mission is to fight AIDS while saying nothing about open immorality that helps cause it)” or that we and Muslims worship the same God, we just think of Jesus differently (the open response letter to Muslims). No discernment whatsoever going on here and a big disappointment that Mark Dever still has not rebuked this false prophet.

    Unbelievable!!!

  5. pjtibayan says:

    Diana,

    Thanks for joining the conversation. You didn’t “miss the part in the bible where Christ or the Apostles paraded around ‘men who promoted sin from the pulpit (our mission is to fight AIDS while saying nothing about open immorality that helps cause it)’ or that we and Muslims worship the same God, we just think of Jesus differently (the open response letter to Muslims).”

    You simply missed the point of this post. You missed three things (at least): (1) you missed the fact that I did not say I approve of him and all he’s done without discerning his errors, (2) you missed the fact that no one parades him as an example of gospel preaching, and (3)you are completely unaware and therefore unqualified and out of line to say that Mark Dever parades him or has not pointed out his error.

    I do see a lot of problems with Rick Warren’s ministry. That was not the point of my post. I’m saddened that you, presumably a sister in Christ, would write with great sarcasm and fire. It may have been better for you to pose the question as to whether I disagree with Rick Warren on things or whether Mark Dever does. Your conclusions are premature and foolish if Proverbs 18:13 are God’s words (and they are).

    I pray you learn to discuss and transfer discernment to people like me with humility and love, not sarcasm and immaturity.

    PJ Tibayan

Leave a Reply

