Lessons I learned today (1/25) during my internship

Meditate more on Scripture by outlining a text and preaching it to myself or picking up an observation or two and mulling over it throughout the day

I should strive for what Bridges calls “warm impressions” when I have my quiet time

Scripture is the primary book to study and the authority of all truth I will learn and test from other sources

I need to read more generally: I want to read Os Guiness, Al Mohler’s blogs more, sociology, biography, church history, systematic theology, biblical theology, and other disciplines – history, literature, the encyclopedia

I need to schedule/structure my time for reading and plan a book list

I need to strategize how I will understand the world better

I must be careful that my studies draw me to the Bible and not simply use the Bible to grow in my studies (Bridges 51)

The pastor must protect his quiet time and his sermon prep with an iron fist

In the midst of this great responsibility of study I must not neglect my family and my daily duties (Bridges, 48).  This means plan well and follow through.

All knowledge gained through study should be directed towards how to best benefit the ministry so the knowledge is not idle (48)

Beware of the dangers of knowledge (49)

Manage time effectively and be miserly (44).

The list of things a pastor should know from his study (36).

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Internship @ CHBC, lessons learned. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lessons I learned today (1/25) during my internship

  1. Frederick says:

    What do you mean by Bridges’ “warm impressions”? Thanks.

  2. pjtibayan says:

    Fred,

    Thanks for the question. The way I’m taking it and applying it to my life is to have what the Psalmist calls God opening my eyes to see wondrous things in his Word (Psalm 119:18). I’m including with that sight an appropriate heart response that causes me to love God with my mind and affections, thus a “warm impression”. To use 2 Cor. 3:18 language, I want to see a glimpse of Christ’s glory and be transformed while meditating on his holy Word.

    Does that help? Feel free to follow that up with more questions…

Leave a Reply

