The Son is Coming!

Elijah is coming tomorrow at 6pm. Jesus’ last words in the Bible are, “Surely, I am coming soon.” I can’t wait for Elijah to come. I’m so excited and eagerly anticipating his arrival. Jesus is coming soon too. Who am I more eager for? Sadly and honestly, I look forward to my son coming more than God’s Son. Why? Maybe it’s because I know with a high degree of certainty my son will be here tomorrow. Maybe it’s because I have already seen my son face to face. Maybe it’s because I’m sinning and my mind is set more on earthly things. I fear it is the last one. I want to be more eager in anticipating the return of King Jesus! That doesn’t mean I should lessen my excitement for my son’s arrival, but by God’s grace, raise my excitement for my Savior’s arrival.

Colossians 3:1 If then you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. 2 Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. 3 For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. 4 When Christ who is your life appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.

2 Timothy 4:8 Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that Day, and not only to me but also to all who have loved his appearing.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in family, lessons learned, personal applications, Personal Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Son is Coming!

  1. T. Jojo says:

    PJ,

    It’s good that you’re excited about seeing and being with your son again (normal reaction for normal Dad’s)
    But I like to ask you to refrain from comparing your son’s arrival with the Word of God (Jesus return) they’re two different things. It’s one thing to think about it and compare it to that; and another to write about it as well. I’m only saying this as one reads your blog; one who is a young believer might be mislead that you are taking scriptures lightly and using it to relate to more earthly things or happenings. I continue to pray for you and whatever you do. Say hi to Frances for me and Elijah as well.

  2. pjtibayan says:

    Kuya Jojo,

    Thanks for your thoughts. I understand that one could take it lightly if one is not careful. But the whole point of my post is that we ought to be more excited about God and heavenly things. I think a young believer will be encouraged to think more about God and heavenly things as I’ve been challenged to by these thoughts.

    Thanks for commenting and thanks for reading. Most importantly to me, thanks for praying for me! The Lord knows I need it. I’ll tell the family you said hi!

    In Christ,
    PJ

Leave a Reply

