What is love? God answers the question from one significant angle.

God answers the question of how to love one another through the apostle John.  It may not be an answer that “Christians” like who don’t take the Bible seriously and seek to read and obey it carefully (yet not legalistically).

2 John 2:5-6 – “And now I ask you… that we love one another.  And this is love, that we walk according to his commandments.”

John goes on to describe deceivers and false teachers that will seek to deceive the church.  I’ve come across false teaching at my church where I was challenged that the church needed to be more “loving.”  I agree with their criticism.  I need to be more loving.  CFBC needs to be more loving.  But the people who criticize may also be the people who don’t define love as keeping all of God’s commandments in the power of the Spirit secured by Christ’s finished work.  They are right to say I need to love more, but their definition of love seems to say keep certain commandments of God to the neglect of all of them.  I don’t think I keep all of them, but I’m open to hearing all of them and asking God to give me and our church grace to obey them all.  I hope it’s the same for those who are quick to criticize churches that hold fast to the gospel and seek to teach the Scriptures clearly and authoritatively.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in CFBC, For the Love of God readings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

