Nick Vujicic and the goodness of God’s Wisdom

Frances, Brian, and I went to see Nick Vujicic and hear his testimony about the goodness of God in his life. He is the man who has no limbs. I was very blessed and encouraged by his life and testimony and perspective and joy and love. I watched his video last night with Brian and then found out that he was going to be in Corona. So we went over there and I was challenged to choose suffering for the sake of God’s glory and the good of others. Nick said that if he had to do it all over again, he would choose to live his life the same way (without limbs) because of the way God has used it to minister to at least one person’s soul and that is more valuable than living his life with limbs. I was rebuked. I was reminded of John Piper’s message at Shepherds’ Conference in 2001 where he preached on Colossians 1:24 and commanded us to choose suffering as a lifestyle for the sake of presenting Christ’s suffering to others who would be blessed by the suffering of Christ seen in our lives. I could hear Piper say, “He chose it!” It referring to suffering. And when I looked at Nick, I was amazed that he’d choose it and rebuked that I don’t love souls as much as I ought by being willing to give an arm or a leg. But I was also encouraged because Christ died and purchased that grace for Nick and for me to grow along that same passion to love and care for others and keep my mind on God’s glory and eternity.

I gave Nick the book, Desiring God by John Piper to encourage him in his ministry and to refresh his soul. I pray that he reads it, grows in enjoying God, and then bears even more fruit in an already fruitful ministry for God’s glory as he speaks, loves, and encourages people all around the world.

You can see more of Nick at his website or on youtube.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Christian living, journal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

