I Need Spiritual Eyes to See

The main thought that hits me this morning is having eyes to see God, see what he is doing, and to know him from that sight. It is possible to have eyes and not see as Jesus warns in Matthew 13:13. I read 1 Timothy 3 which has a confession of the mystery of godliness which is unclear to me as to its meaning (v. 16):

He was manifested in the flesh,
vindicated by the Spirit,
seen by angels,
proclaimed among the nations,
believed on in the world,
taken up in glory.

I don’t get that yet. I prayed this morning that I’d be an elder/overseer/pastor who is qualified according to 1 Timothy 3. I prayed that I’d be gentle, hospitable, and not quarrelsome. I also prayed that I’d teach/preach well and have a knowledge of God and his Word to pastor and preach well. There it is again, a prayer for knowledge and sight. I need God’s help for this.

I moved on to read 2 Kings 6, in which Elisha prays for his servants eyes to be opened to see that although the Syrian army has surrounded them, there is an army of the Lord with chariots of fire surrounding Elisha and his servant. Elisha prayed for his servant to have eyes to see what is really going on. How many times have I looked at a situation in life and not used God’s revelation to give me eyes to see the situation for what it really is.

In Psalm 119:18, I read today, “Open my eyes that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.” How many times have I read Scripture and my eyes were not opened to see? I pray God gives me eyes to see today.

Lastly, I read in Daniel 10 today that Daniel set his heart to know, see, and understand God and what he was doing. The angel said to Daniel, “Fear not, Daniel, for from the first day that you set your heart to understand and humbled yourself before your God, your words have been heard, and I have come because of your words.” I pray that I would set my heart to understand. I pray that I’ll humble myself before my God and be heard by God. Enough writing, it’s time to pray for eyes to see God and understand his Word and the world around me!

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Christian living, For the Love of God readings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

