An Almost “Everyday GIFT” from God

I love prayer meeting for a number of reasons. One of them is that I see God’s glory in ways I would not if I were simply at home. I see God’s glory in my sister Linda Gepenaga. She was blind for some weeks and is slowly recovering her sight (really slowly). She has had a number of treatments and surgeries to her eye with more to come. Yet she comes every Wednesday, she says, to pray for the church as a congregation and to be blessed in coming (actually her husband said the latter part). I told her that she was a blessing to me in being there and rejoicing in God while she could barely see. What a blessing, encouragement, and rebuke!

Where I was most impacted by God’s glory tonight was in her short statement: “I praise God for a good night of sleep.” She went on to talk about how hard it has been for her to sleep well in the past few weeks (months?). She was thankful she’s been able to sleep well the past week or so. I thought to myself, “God gives me good sleep every night at this stage and season in my life.” I sleep well for now. Really well. I’ve come to expect it and complain quickly when it takes me more than 6 minutes to fall asleep. How ungrateful I am! More importantly, how kind and gracious of God to give me almost 27 and a half years of nights sleeping really well! He is so kind! I pray I don’t forget it when I’m called to suffer sleepless nights for a year or three when my health deteriorates. God, almost everyday gives me the gift of a good, refreshing, night of sleep. I sat in prayer meeting and saw God’s kindness and thanked him not only for the sleep, but for letting me be at prayer meeting to hear my sister in Christ Linda say her blessing with joy and gladness in the kindness of God. God is kind to give me sleep and to show me his glory in the words and lives of those I am partnered with for the gospel in my local church.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in CFBC, Christian living, lessons learned. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

