Ministry to the Poor

Ministries of Mercy by Tim Keller

Filed under: CFBC, Books read, Christian living — pjtibayan @ 3:45 pm Edit This

The Call of the Jericho Road

INTRODUCTION

Answers to the Questions for discussion:

1.       After
reading on an overview of poverty, the statistics most surprising were
the stats on how many white are poor in comparison to black and
Hispanic.  I was also surprised by the complexity of the
reasons for poverty and how small the fraction was of those who are
able to work yet lazy.  It was 1/6 of the poor that were able to work, and only a portion of them can really be called lazy.  My
view of poverty has changed after reading the facts in understanding
that the problem, and thus the role of the church in being part of the
solution, is deeper and more strategic than simply feeding the poor or
giving them some money or a place to stay, though it may often include
that.  I saw that poverty was tied to morality, divorce,
fornication and child birth, the advance of technology, the inadequacy
of the wages for the poor, and the general direction of things looking
to get worse, not better.

2.       Based
on the example of Angela on page 15, some of the complexities in
serving the poor are knowing where they are and their situation, and
knowing how to help.  The big complexity is to understand
them and communicate that you do understand them when most who are not
poor in this culture do not understand them but let their preconceived
notion of poor people dictate and determine their interaction with and
service to the poor.

3.       A
pocket of poverty in my community that our church may be able to help
is the working poor, who have jobs and yet do not have enough to
sustain life considering the cost of rent, the meager wages, and the
cost of living.  I do not see many homeless singles or families in Walnut and West Covina, though I have seen a few near the West Covina Mall.  So the pocket of poverty that I identify according to the introduction is the “working poor” described on pp. 18-19.

General Reflection/Response to the section:

I realize that I have not understood what situation the poor was in.  What an eye-opener!  I praise God for showing me the situation and the need clearer.  I
have a burden to be part of the solution and to lead the church in
being faithful to God and meeting the needs of the poor in our
community and in our country.  I still don’t know what or how to do it, and that’s why I’m glad Alex and I are reading this book.  I want my family and church family to glorify Christ in loving our neighbors in light of eternity and the gospel.  I pray that this book and discussion with Alex my brother may help.  I
do see how I am one of those evangelicals who are clueless as to the
situation and need of my poor neighbors in my community and in my
country.

Father, thank you for loving the poor and meeting their needs through Christ and his church.  Thank you for letting me be part of the church.  I
thank you for Tim Keller and his ministry to me through his writing. I
pray that I and Alex would be doers of the Word and love the poor.  Help us to have mercy and compassion on them and live sacrificial lives.  Help
us to be informed in our solutions and keep our zeal and desires
tethered to the gospel and your priorities for us laid out in Scripture.  Help us to relieve the oppressed and suffering, especially eternal oppression and suffering from sin and its consequences.  Give Alex insight as well as he reads this section.  In Jesus’ name I pray, amen.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ministry to the Poor

  1. JPMartinez says:

    good post. As always i have lots to say on this subject. just not here, maybe we can talk sometime.

Leave a Reply

