A Necessary Ingredient for Accountability Relationships

Mark Dever gives us a necessary ingredient for edifying accountability relationships:

The first lesson was provoked when one dear brother reproached
himself for not reaching out more to this mutual friend, not asking
more questions about how our mutual friend was doing.  I told him that
I had met with this friend weekly and often asked him many questions. 
I didn’t think he (my self-reproachful friend) was so much in the wrong
as our mutual friend was wrong for not being honest.  Lesson
number one:  no accountability relationships will work if there is not
a commitment to honesty on the part of the person in question

The problem wasn’t a lack of initiative toward him; the problem was his
hiding the truth from us.  If I am committed to my sin above a humble,
self-revealing honesty, then I can’t rely on any accountability
structure or loving friendships to expose my sin and protect my soul. 
I must remember that if I am to war against sin, I must labor to be
embarassingly transparent.

We need to be honest and open to our brothers and sisters who are
holding us accountable.  Twice, God communicates hi hatred for lying in
Proverbs 6:

16 There are six things that the Lord hates,
seven that are an abomination to him:
17 haughty eyes, a lying tongue,
and hands that shed innocent blood,
18 a heart that devises wicked plans,
feet that make haste to run to evil,
19 a false witness who breathes out lies,
and one who sows discord among brothers.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Necessary Ingredient for Accountability Relationships

  1. blueoceanla says:

    Wow! PJ, thank you for sharing that..it really opened my eyes to accountability… 

  2. nEogEn says:

    Praise God for this. My accountability and I discussed this tonight about being able to communicate openly with honesty.

Leave a Reply

