Letters Along the Way by D. A. Carson and John Woodbridge (part 1)

I just finished my first book of 2007, Letters Along the Way.

I was really edified and encouraged by the book. I’ll just state some general impressions here while my next post will include all the subjects covered/mentioned and other thoughts once I reflect more. But here are some general thoughts and impressions after finishing the book:

  1. I was really glad to reflect on death and its coming. Everyday I get closer to death, and yet I manage to push it out of my thoughts and decisions by the distractions of life. I looked at my son and thought, how can the reality of death and eternity help me be a better father to him?
  2. There is a lot of information in the book! Communism, capitalism, justification, prayer life, head versus heart Christianity, evolutionary theory, marriage, assurance of salvation, agnosticism, evangelicalism, seminary training, scholarship, and much more are covered in the book.
  3. I appreciated the personal warmth of the book. I felt like I was getting to know the characters and was very sad or very happy, depending on what was going on in the story.
  4. I want to buy some copies for pastors and leaders who. I think this book is a must for seminary students and should be used in discipleship labs at TMS.
  5. The topics were covered in a balanced, straightforward, and concise manner. That was very helpful.
  6. I want to read it again, but first I need to make the list of what each letter covered. I’ll definitely be referring back to different letters covering issues that I’m thinking of at the moment.
  7. I praise God for the book and for the edification and grace he poured out on me through my reading of it.

Update: Index from jmark:

TOPIC PAGE

1 Cor 3 26

Adams, Jay 107
Agnosticism 79
AIDS 254
Alcohol 89
Assurance 21

Backsliding 70
Books for new Christians 12
Buddha 214
Building each other up 229
Burden of sin 15
Burn out 229
Buying books 183

Call to the ministry 132
Capitalism 114
Christian Academics/Criticism 173
Christian differences in belief 46
Christian freedom 89
Christianity in France historically 64
Christianity in France today 60
Church discipline 240
Common grace 26
Communism 75, 114
Cultural influence on Scripture 214

Darwin on Trial 271
Death 279
Doing your own thing 122

Eastern Europe 264
Economics 114
Eschatology 222
Evangelism 85, 260
Evangelicalism in the UK 51
Evolution 42

Forgiveness 70

Guilt feelings 142

Heart vs Head 167
Homosexuality 254
Humanism 208

Inerrancy 158
Inspiration 214

Justification 15, 70, 274

Liberalism 200
Liberation theology 194
Lordship 32
Lordship/Saviour 26

Marriage 142
Matter 42

Natural theology 147
New Age 268

Pastoral advice 222
Philosophy 42, 147
Pluralism 179
Post Iron Curtain 268
Prayer advice 258
Priesthood of all believers 229
Priorities 246
Psychiatry, psychology 107

Qualities of a minister 126

Revolution 264

Sexual immorality 70
Social action 89
Sound doctrine 96
Spiritual dryness 96

Temptation 102
Theological colleges 137
Theological training 189
Time management 235

Universalism 79

Women’s ordination 214
Worldliness 122
Worship 250

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Books read, Christian living, D. A. Carson, Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Letters Along the Way by D. A. Carson and John Woodbridge (part 1)

  1. colin says:

    Hi there, Have been reading your a blog for a while and have been really blessed through it – thanks! My turn to help you out a little – a friend of mine has a blog and he read “Letters along the way” and indexed it.
    I have no idea how to properly post a link in a blog comment but here’s nmy best shot:
    http://three17.blogspot.com/2006/03/letters-along-way.html

    Maybe this’ll save you a little work!

  2. pjtibayan says:

    Thanks a lot Colin! I appreciate the link. Your help has caused me to praise our Lord.

  3. jmark says:

    Hi there

    Glad someone found the index useful!

    Its a good book, full of worthwhile stuff.

    God bless

    Mark

Leave a Reply

