Application of For the Love of God Reading

2 Chronicles 13

2 Chron 13:18 Thus the men of Israel were subdued at that time, and the men of Judah prevailed, because they relied on the Lord, the God of their fathers.

I need to consciously rely on God and the strength that comes through Christ in the tasks I have today: witnessing to my unbelieving friend tonight, prayer time this morning, edifying my wife, leading my wife through our disagreement and not being passive, calling people in the student ministry, using my time efficiently and in the best way, fighting sin, and seeking to love others. I must not try to do this in my own strength but rely on God.

Revelation 3

2 Wake up, and strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have not found your works complete in the sight of my God. 3 Remember, then, what you received and heard. Keep it, and repent. If you will not wake up, I will come like a thief, and you will not know at what hour I will come against you.

I need to do what God tells me to do. Right now the things I haven’t been doing that I need to do is shepherd particular people in the student ministry, shepherd the student ministry as a whole better, call the team to shepherd particular people better, and be more intentional and deliberate in the conscious application of Scripture.

11 I am coming soon. Hold fast what you have, so that no one may seize your crown.

When tempted to disobey because the situation is uncomfortable or tense, I still must obey and hold fast. That means I need to pursue and endure and intentionally have the hard conversations and reproofs and corrections God is calling me to have. I must receive rebuke with humility and desire to change and a clinging to Christ. I must do this while keeping the Parousia in view.

17 For you say, I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing, not realizing that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked. 18 I counsel you to buy from me gold refined by fire, so that you may be rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself and the shame of your nakedness may not be seen, and salve to anoint your eyes, so that you may see.

I must see my desperate condition apart from Christ and his grace and continually throughout today seek and ask God for grace for the needs of the moment.

Zeph 1

12 At that time I will search Jerusalem with lamps,
and I will punish the men
who are complacent,
those who say in their hearts,
‘The Lord will not do good,
nor will he do ill.’
13 Their goods shall be plundered,
and their houses laid waste.
Though they build houses,
they shall not inhabit them;
though they plant vineyards,
they shall not drink wine from them.”

D. A. Carson comments (For the Love of God, Vol. 2, December 9): The two that I have mentioned involve a well – thought – out scheme, a worldview. But the worst is rarely systematic or intentional. It simply ignores God. It may formally espouse providence, but in practice it thinks through none of the implications of serving and obeying a God who is irrevocably in charge. It may happily confess the resurrection of Jesus, but expects no other interventions by God. It reads history, but learns nothing that is in line with holy Scripture.

Avoid complacency. Don’t ignore God in every situation I face today. Pray and believe that God intervenes in my day. Trust that he will do good to me in Christ.

Zeph. 2-3 –

2:3 Seek the Lord, all you humble of the land,
who do his just commands;
seek righteousness; seek humility;
perhaps you may be hidden
on the day of the anger of the Lord.

3:11 “On that day you shall not be put to shame
because of the deeds by which you have rebelled against me;
for then I will remove from your midst
your proudly exultant ones,
and you shall no longer be haughty
in my holy mountain.
12 But I will leave in your midst
a people humble and lowly.
They shall seek refuge in the name of the Lord,
13 those who are left in Israel;
they shall do no injustice
and speak no lies,
nor shall there be found in their mouth
a deceitful tongue.
For they shall graze and lie down,
and none shall make them afraid.”

Be humble. Don’t be proud. Seek God for refuge and confidence and ability and righteousness and strength. Don’t lie. Seek justice.

3:2 She listens to no voice;
she accepts no correction.
She does not trust in the Lord;
she does not draw near to her God.

Accept correction. Listen without being defensive. Try to learn from what my wife says to me. Try to learn from what others say to me. Try to learn what God is saying to me through the words of others. Test all of their words by Scripture and not by my opinions. Listen to their voices, accept correction. Trust in Christ, draw near to him.

3:14 Sing aloud, O daughter of Zion;
shout, O Israel!
Rejoice and exult with all your heart,
O daughter of Jerusalem!
15 The Lord has taken away the judgments against you;
he has cleared away your enemies.
The King of Israel, the Lord, is in your midst;
you shall never again fear evil.
16 On that day it shall be said to Jerusalem:
“Fear not, O Zion;
let not your hands grow weak.
17 The Lord your God is in your midst,
a mighty one who will save;
he will rejoice over you with gladness;
he will quiet you by his love;
he will exult over you with loud singing.

Stand in awe of God’s grace to us. Rejoice in God’s love for his people! Sing today songs of gladness and celebrations of the cross! Play sovereign grace songs on my iTunes or iPod to celebrate the grace of God today. Then sing with my wife. Rest confidently on God’s finished work.

About pjtibayan

I love Jesus Christ and live to share life and share Jesus together with First Southern Baptist Church of Bellflower primarily to Southeast Los Angeles County.
This entry was posted in Christian living, For the Love of God readings, personal applications. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

